Weather for the Following Location: karte von Ballarat, Australien


BRAC Lap of the Lake

The annual Moneghetti & R. Brisbane Lap of the Lake events were conducted at Lake Wendouree with Will Ford and Karla Treweek taking out the main races on a cold day in Ballarat

The annual BRAC Lap of the Lake event was conducted on the weekend at Lake Wendouree with over 110 of Ballarat’s talented athletes taking on the 6km course in cold and windy conditions. The historic race has run in Ballarat since 1961 and is a staple part of the athletics community. The men’s Moneghetti Lap of the Lake OPEN race, named after 14-time winner S. Moneghetti, has seen past winners including Tony Benson, Collis Birmingham, Duer Yoa and Frank Shevlin.

This years Men’s event was taken out by Ballarat YCW athlete Will Ford who finished in fast time of 18.14 minutes! This time was good enough to place as the 53rd fastest athlete in the history of the race. Ford was closely followed by Ben Ludbrook, Matthew Catterson and Darcy Williams who all finished the 6km course under 19 minutes. To highlight the talent in Ballarat at the moment, 10 athletes finished the course in under 20 minutes in what was cold and winding conditions in Ballarat.

Ballarat was lucky enough to have the great Stephen Moneghetti compete on the day, Moneghetti is a 14 time winner of the event and holds the record for the fastest time which he run in 1992. Moneghetti won the 50+ category finishing in a time of 20.26 minutes. Moneghetti was joined by Eureka Athletics legend and former winner Frank Shevlin who competed on the day.

The R. Brisbane Women’s Lap of the Lake saw Karla Treweek win for a 3rd straight year, finishing in a strong time of 22.01 minutes. Treweek saw off a late charge from Ballarat Harrier Claire Johnson and 13-year-old Lucy Jones who all finished within 20 seconds of each other. Lucy Jones recorded the fastest time ever for a 13-year-old woman finishing in 22.20 minutes.

Treweek now joins Kelli Baird, Geraldine Riley and Rachel Gibney as three-time winners of the race, joining some elite company for Ballarat Women’s runners.

In the club results, Ballarat YCW took home the points in all Women’s grades with impressive numbers across all age groups. YCW also took out the B and C Grade club awards in the men’s. Eureka Athletics club took out the A Grade Men’s award with 4 athletes finishing inside the top 9.

Thank you to all club helpers and administration that made the day possible and thank you to all athletes who made the trip to the Lake to compete in the historic race.